Eli Benched; Daniel Jones Named Giants Starting QB

"Eli was obviously disappointed, as you would expect, but he said he would be what he has always been, a good teammate, and continue to prepare to help this team win games," coach Pat Shurmur said.


EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (CBSNewYork)Daniel Jones has been named Giants starting quarterback, the team announced Tuesday.

The switch was made just two games into Jones’ rookie season.

“Eli was obviously disappointed, as you would expect, but he said he would be what he has always been, a good teammate, and continue to prepare to help this team win games,” coach Pat Shurmur said. “Daniel understands the challenge at hand, and he will be ready to play on Sunday.”

The Giants are 0-2. They’re set to face the the Tampa Buccaneers Sunday.

“Ultimately, this is a move that I felt was best for this team at this time. I have said it since I got here, I am very fond of Eli. His work ethic, his preparation, his football intelligence. All those attributes are as good as I have ever seen in a player.”

 

You might also like

October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
October 8, 2019 Tuesday
October 7, 2019 Monday
October 6, 2019 Sunday
October 5, 2019 Saturday
October 4, 2019 Friday
October 3, 2019 Thursday
October 2, 2019 Wednesday
October 1, 2019 Tuesday
September 30, 2019 Monday
September 29, 2019 Sunday
Show More