Draisaitl Scores In Overtime As Oilers Beat Rangers 3-2

New York lost for the seventh time in its last eight games.


Connor McDavid and Matt Benning also scored for the Oilers (31-31-7), who improved to 7-2-2 in their last 11 games.

New York lost for the seventh time in its last eight games. Brendan Lemieux and Brett Howden scored for the Rangers (28-28-13), and Alexandar Georgiev made 30 saves.

Edmonton jumped in front when McDavid scored his 34th goal shortly after the Oilers went on a power play in the first period. Draisaitl picked up an assist to extend his point streak to 14 games, the longest active run in the NHL.

Benning added his third of the season at 8:02. The goal was originally waived off because of accidental contact with the goalie by Zack Kassian, but a review showed it was actually the stick of New York defenseman Fredrik Claesson that clipped Georgiev.

New York got on the board when Lemieux beat Oilers goaltender Mikko Koskinen with a deceptive wrist shot 11:29 into the second.

A bad bounce in front of the net set up Howden for his first goal in 36 games, tying it at 2 early in the third period.

Edmonton had a couple of great chances on a late power play, but came up empty.

NOTES:

It was the second and final scheduled meeting between the teams this season. Edmonton defeated New York 2-1 in October to record the club’s first victory of the season. … Oilers F Milan Lucic missed his second game in a row with an injury. … Rangers forward Ryan Strome played in Edmonton for the first time since he was traded for forward Ryan Spooner on Nov. 16. Strome came into the game with 12 points in his past 14 games. Spooner ended up being sent to Vancouver for Sam Gagner.

UP NEXT:

Rangers: Visit the Vancouver Canucks on Wednesday.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

August 18, 2019 Sunday
August 17, 2019 Saturday
August 16, 2019 Friday
August 15, 2019 Thursday
August 14, 2019 Wednesday
August 13, 2019 Tuesday
August 12, 2019 Monday
August 11, 2019 Sunday
August 10, 2019 Saturday
August 9, 2019 Friday
August 8, 2019 Thursday
August 7, 2019 Wednesday
Show More