Dr. Fauci On Sports Returning, Knicks' Front Office Decision, And Giants' 'Mr. Irrelevant'

While MLB is exploring a plan that could see games being played without fans by early July, Dr. Anthony Fauci is saying not so fast for any sports action anytime soon.


LINDEN, N.J. (CBSNew York) — While Major League Baseball is exploring a plan that could see games being played without fans by early July, Dr. Anthony Fauci is saying not so fast for any sports action anytime soon.

In fact, the infectious disease expert said all sports could be put on hold for the rest of 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic. Fauci said the lack of widespread testing and quick results are the biggest roadblocks. Regarding baseball’s potential plan, Fauci said, “I would love to be able to have all sports back, but right now when you look at the country, we’re not ready for that yet.”

In local sports news:

* Scott Perry will remain New York Knicks general manager under Leon Rose for a year. Perry has been in place for the last two drafts that saw the Knicks get a hidden gem in Mitchell Robinson, and select RJ Barrett and Kevin Knox high in the first round. The rest of the front office is subject to change, CBS2’s Otis Livingston reported.

* Every year at the NFL Draft, the No. 1 overall pick is celebrated. But what about the last guy picked, No. 255, better known as “Mr. Irrelevant?” This year that distinction went to New York Giants linebacker Tae Crowder, a defensive standout out of Georgia.

Crowder started every game for the bulldogs during his senior season, finishing second on the team in tackles and was a semifinalist for the Butkus Award.

MORENew York Giants Draft Pick Darnay Holmes Determined To Learn From His Dad’s Financial Mistakes

Usually there’s a parade in Newport Beach, Calif., for Mr. Irrelevant, but in this social distancing reality Crowder hasn’t heard if or when that could happen. Right now, he’s just happy to be in the NFL with the Giants and a role model in his hometown of Hamilton, Ga.

“It gives the younger kids hope. It shows them that they can also be big in life and achieve a goal that they thought that they can’t. For my community, it’s a small town and a lot of people don’t make it out. I was one of the first ones to get drafted in a while, so that means a lot,” Crowder said.

Crowder said he loves the title of Mr. Irrelevant, because it gets him going and inspires him to be great. Giants fans have to love that.

 

You might also like

May 31, 2020 Sunday
May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
Show More