Djokovic Edges Federer In 5 Sets For 5th Wimbledon Trophy

Novak Djokovic claimed his fifth championship at the All England Club and second in a row.


By barely emerging to win 7-6 (5), 1-6, 7-6 (4), 4-6, 13-12 (3) after nearly five tight, tense and terrific hours, Djokovic claimed his fifth championship at the All England Club and second in a row.

This triumph also earned Djokovic his 16th Grand Slam trophy, moving him closer to the only men ahead of him in tennis history: Federer with 20, and Rafael Nadal with 18.

Federer has ruled grass courts since the early 2000s; he has won Wimbledon eight times dating to 2003, and this was his record 12th appearance in the title match. But Djokovic is now 3-0 against Federer in finals at the place and 4-0 against him in five-setters.

This one was unlike any other, though.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
September 10, 2019 Tuesday
September 9, 2019 Monday
Show More