Devils Fire Head Coach John Hynes

New Jersey has been suffering through a poor start to this season, sitting at the bottom of the Metropolitan Division with a record of 9-13-4


NEWARK, N.J. (CBSNewYork) — The New Jersey Devils have fire their head coach John Hynes after four plus season at the helm of the franchise.

New Jersey has been suffering through a poor start to this season, sitting at the bottom of the Metropolitan Division with a record of 9-13-4 — despite bringing in star P.K. Subban and drafting top prospect Jack Hughes.

“John played an integral role in the development of this team in establishing a foundation for our future and we are grateful for his commitment, passion and unmatched work ethic,” said team Executive Vice President and General Manager Ray Shero in a press release.

“John is a respected leader, developer of talent and friend which makes this decision difficult.”

Hynes ends his Devils coaching stint with a record of 150-159-45 in 354 regular season games. He led team to the 2018 postseason; New Jersey’s first trip in six years. He ranks second in team history in games coached, wins, and points.

Alain Nasreddine has been named the interim head coach. Peter Horachek — currently a pro scout for the devils — will join the staff as an assistant.

 

You might also like

July 4, 2020 Saturday
July 3, 2020 Friday
July 2, 2020 Thursday
July 1, 2020 Wednesday
June 30, 2020 Tuesday
June 26, 2020 Friday
June 25, 2020 Thursday
June 24, 2020 Wednesday
June 23, 2020 Tuesday
June 22, 2020 Monday
June 20, 2020 Saturday
June 19, 2020 Friday
June 18, 2020 Thursday
June 17, 2020 Wednesday
June 16, 2020 Tuesday
June 15, 2020 Monday
June 12, 2020 Friday
June 11, 2020 Thursday
June 10, 2020 Wednesday
June 9, 2020 Tuesday
June 8, 2020 Monday
Show More