DeGrom Makes Final Dominant Case To Win Cy Young, Mets Win But Get Eliminated From Wild Card Race

All those big swings by Pete Alonso and pinpoint fastballs from Jacob deGrom won't be enough to rally the New York Mets into October.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP) — Now it’s certain: All those big swings by Pete Alonso and pinpoint fastballs from Jacob deGrom won’t be enough to rally the New York Mets into October.

Alonso hit his major league-high 51st home run, one short of the rookie record, and deGrom made his last overpowering pitch for a repeat Cy Young Award as the Mets romped Wednesday night to a 10-3 win over the Miami Marlins that still couldn’t keep them in the playoff hunt.

New York was eliminated from the NL wild-card race when Milwaukee secured the league’s final postseason berth by completing a 9-2 victory in Cincinnati as the Mets (83-75) batted in the eighth. With four games remaining, they are five behind the streaking Brewers (88-70), who were already ahead 6-1 by the time New York took the field.

“It’s tough, but I thought we played pretty good baseball down the stretch to stay in it,” Mets manager Mickey Callaway said. “Obviously, Milwaukee was just off the charts and nobody was catching them.”

After falling to 40-51 on July 12, the Mets made a surprising surge in the second half and are eight games over .500 for the first time this season. But their pennant hopes were finally dashed for good and it was a particularly painful night for All-Star Jeff McNeil, who had two early RBIs but broke his right hand when it was hit by a pitch.

MORE: Jeff McNeil Suffers Fractured Wrist As Mets Get Eliminated From Playoff Contention

“I guess now the fat lady’s singing,” Alonso said. “It’s unfortunate, but we came back so awesome and the way we went about our business is spectacular. So it’s bittersweet, if I had to put it shortly.

“When we finally put it together for a full 162, it’s going to be scary.”

There wasn’t much reaction in a mild Citi Field crowd of 21,471 when the Milwaukee final went up on the out-of-town scoreboard. Many fans filed for the exits after Alonso walked in the eighth, and a handful chanted “Thank you, Mets” following the final out.

“To have it be absolute, it’s frustrating,” said Michael Conforto, who had three hits. “We didn’t do enough to get ourselves into the right position.

“We’re definitely not satisfied with where we’re at,” he added. “We need to put the full six months together.”

Callaway addressed his team in the clubhouse after the game.

“People were clapping because they were proud of never giving up and there’s something to be said about that,” he explained. “We just kept on forging ahead.”

Alonso hit a three-run shot off Robert Dugger (0-4) to make it 7-0 in the second, keeping the slugger two homers ahead of Cincinnati’s Eugenio Suárez — who also connected Wednesday night — for most in the majors. No rookie since 1900 has led the big leagues outright in home runs.


May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
Show More