DeGrom Does It Again! Mets Ace Repeats As NL Cy Young Award Winner

DeGrom received 29 of 30 first-place votes in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced Wednesday night.


DeGrom received 29 of 30 first-place votes in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced Wednesday night.

DeGrom is the 20th pitcher to win multiple Cy Youngs and 11th to win it consecutively. The previous repeat winner was Washington’s Max Scherzer in 2016 and ’17. Scherzer tied with the Dodgers’ Hyun-Jin Ryu for second this year.

The Mets ace was surrounded by family during the live announcement. DeGrom also joined much smaller family Wednesday evening, as he now stands next to Hall of Famer Tom Seaver as the only two Mets to have multiple Cy Young awards in the franchise’s history.


December 11, 2019 Wednesday
December 10, 2019 Tuesday
December 9, 2019 Monday
December 8, 2019 Sunday
December 7, 2019 Saturday
December 6, 2019 Friday
December 5, 2019 Thursday
December 4, 2019 Wednesday
December 3, 2019 Tuesday
December 2, 2019 Monday
December 1, 2019 Sunday
November 30, 2019 Saturday
November 29, 2019 Friday
November 28, 2019 Thursday
Show More