Belmont Stakes Means Street Closures, Traffic Changes Saturday

The 151st running of the Belmont Stakes begins Saturday morning at Belmont Park in Elmont. 


ELMONT, N.Y. (CBSNewYork) – The third and final race of the Triple Crown is set to run Saturday on Long Island.

The 151st running of the Belmont Stakes begins Saturday morning at Belmont Park in Elmont.

Related: Belmont Stakes Preview

While there will be no Triple Crown, War of Will looks to capture his second straight victory after winning the Preakness last month.

Some 90,000 fans are expected to attend.

Gates open at 8:30 a.m. and races will be run from 11:30 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Officials say drivers can expect delays on Hempstead Turnpike and surrounding secondary roads throughout the day.

Plainfield Avenue will be closed from Hempstead Turnpike to Vanderwater Avenue from 8 a.m.-9 p.m.

The LIRR will be adding extra trains. Attendees are urged to use mass transit.

 

You might also like

Today
August 20, 2019 Tuesday
August 19, 2019 Monday
August 18, 2019 Sunday
August 17, 2019 Saturday
August 16, 2019 Friday
August 15, 2019 Thursday
August 14, 2019 Wednesday
August 13, 2019 Tuesday
August 12, 2019 Monday
August 11, 2019 Sunday
August 10, 2019 Saturday
August 9, 2019 Friday
Show More