Bell, Lee No-Shows On First Day Of Jets' Voluntary Minicamp, But Gase Says He's Not Concerned

The New York Jets hit the field together for the first time this offseason — without their star running back.


FLORHAM PARK, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — The New York Jets hit the field together for the first time this offseason — without their star running back.

Le’Veon Bell was not among the players present Tuesday for the start of the team’s voluntary three-day minicamp. Linebacker Darron Lee, whose role with the team is uncertain, was also not on the practice field.

Coach Adam Gase appeared unconcerned, though, downplaying the fact neither was present.

“It’s voluntary,” Gase stressed. “(Bell) was here that first week (of offseason workouts), and we got a lot of good information that week to him.”

According to the NFL’s collective bargaining agreement, teams with new coaches are allowed to hold a voluntary minicamp early in the offseason program. Teams also hold 10 sessions of organized team activities, which are also voluntary. The Jets’ mandatory minicamp begins June 4.


June 3, 2020 Wednesday
June 2, 2020 Tuesday
June 1, 2020 Monday
May 31, 2020 Sunday
May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
Show More