Beauvillier Scores 2, Lifts Islanders Past Stars In OT

Mathew Barzal and Derick Brassard also scored for the Islanders, who are 2-0-2 in their last four games.


Mathew Barzal and Derick Brassard also scored for the Islanders, who are 2-0-2 in their last four games. Semyon Varlamov made 28 saves to earn his 16th career win against the Stars, his most against any opponent.

John Klingberg, Denis Gurianov and Jason Dickinson scored for the Stars, while Ben Bishop made 37 saves.

Dallas, vying for a sweep of its three-game trip to the New York area, took a 3-2 lead 6:56 into the third period as Klingberg’s shot from near the blue line managed to beat Varlamov. It was his first goal since Dec. 1.

Brock Nelson appeared to tie the score with 5:27 remaining, but the goal was taken off the board after Dallas challenged for goalie interference.

The Islanders’ power play finally broke through on its fifth opportunity of the night. With Roope Hintz penalized for holding, Barzal tied it with just under four minutes remaining. The 22-year-old leads New York with 12 points in eight games at Barclays Center this year.

Beauvillier then beat Bishop on a breakaway in the extra period as the Islanders improved to 5-0-3 in Brooklyn this season.

Beauvillier opened the scoring 90 seconds into the game, beating Bishop with a backhand shot from the right side. It was his fourth goal in the last seven games. The goal also marked the eighth straight game that the Stars had allowed their opponent to score first.

New York had two power plays in the first 10 minutes of the game, but were unable to double their lead.

The Stars capitalize where the Islanders couldn’t. With Casey Cizikas sitting for interference, Gurianov tied the score at 1-1 with 5:52 left in the first. The goal was Gurianov’s second against the Islanders this season.

The Islanders outshot the Stars 18-7 in the first.

New York failed to score on two early power plays in the second. The Islanders came in converting just 12.1 percent of their power plays over their last 16 games, ranking second to last in the NHL over that span.

Dickinson beat Varlamov from the slot with 7:48 left in the second period to put Dallas up 2-1. Dickinson has scored twice in his last three games.

Dallas’ lead didn’t last for long though, as Brassard tied it just 86 seconds later, snapping an 18-game goal-scoring drought.

NOTES: F Kieffer Bellows made his NHL debut for the Islanders. Drafted 19th overall in 2016, Bellows replaced Tom Kuhnhackl in the lineup and picked up his first career point with an assist on Brassard’s goal. … Roman Polak replaced Stephen Johns in the Stars’ lineup after serving as a healthy scratch in their last game. … Scratches also included Taylor Fedun and Joel Kiviranta for Dallas and Sebastian Aho and Ross Johnston for New York. … The Islanders are 10-0-3 in their last 13 regular season games at Barclays Center. Five of the eight games in Brooklyn this season have gone past regulation.

UP NEXT:

Stars: Host Minnesota on Friday night.

Islanders: Host Los Angeles on Thursday night.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

April 2, 2020 Thursday
April 1, 2020 Wednesday
March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
March 7, 2020 Saturday
Show More