Anderson Makes 37 Saves, Senators Beat Islanders

Jean-Gabriel Pageau was making his return to Ottawa after being traded to the Islanders 11 days ago.


Connor Brown, Mikkel Boedker, Anthony Duclair and Brady Tkachuk scored for the Senators, who hadn’t beaten the Islanders since Dec. 1, 2017.

Pageau was making his return to Ottawa after being traded to the Islanders 11 days ago. Hours after the trade, Pageau signed a six-year contract extension. In five games with the Islanders, Pageau has two goals.

Pageau, an Ottawa native, was given a video tribute during the first television timeout and fans were quick to start chanting his name, as they often did when he scored. The 27-year-old went for a quick skate near the bench to acknowledge the reception.

Anders Lee, Mathew Barzal and Ryan Pulock scored for the Islanders, who are 0-3-2 in their last five games. The Islanders have been outscored 14-5 in the last three games. Semyon Varlamov stopped 25 shots.

In the third period, the Islanders were pressing for a tying goal, but the Senators took a 4-2 lead with just over three minutes remaining as Tkachuk picked up his 20th.

New York made it a one-goal game 65 seconds later when Pulock beat Anderson.

The Islanders fired 18 shots at Anderson in the second period, but trailed 3-2 after 40 minutes.

New York took a 2-1 lead early in the second when Jordan Eberle dropped a pass to Barzal, who fired a wrist shot from the slot.

The Senators tied the game as Boedker scored short-handed. Ottawa leads the league with 15 short-handed goals this season.

Duclair gave Ottawa its first lead of the game when he beat Pageau for positioning and scored a pretty goal high on the short side at 14:26 of the second.

The Islanders opened the scoring with a power play when Lee netted his 20th of the season, going top shelf on Anderson at 3:58 of the first.

Ottawa tied the game as Brown tucked in a Nikita Zaitsev rebound at 13:57.

NOTES: Ottawa’s Anthony Duclair returned to the lineup after missing the last four games. Artem Anisimov is out with an upper body injury.

UP NEXT

Islanders: Host Carolina Hurricanes on Saturday.

Senators: At San Jose Sharks on Saturday.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
March 7, 2020 Saturday
March 6, 2020 Friday
Show More