Alonso Hits Historic 50th Home Run, Mets Rout Reds As Wild Card Chase Continues

Alonso is two homers shy of Yankees star Aaron Judge's 2017 total for the rookie record.


Amed Rosario hit a two-run homer and Jeff McNeil added a solo shot for the Mets, who opened the day 3 1/2 games behind Milwaukee for the second NL wild card. The Brewers hosted Pittsburgh on Friday night.

Alonso is two homers shy of Yankees star Aaron Judge’s 2017 total for the rookie record. The right-handed hitter connected on a two-run blast in the eighth inning against reliever Sal Romano, reaching for a down-and-away pitch and lining it an estimated 437 feet to right-center field.


October 17, 2019 Thursday
October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
October 8, 2019 Tuesday
October 7, 2019 Monday
October 6, 2019 Sunday
October 5, 2019 Saturday
October 4, 2019 Friday
October 3, 2019 Thursday
October 2, 2019 Wednesday
October 1, 2019 Tuesday
Show More