'A Good Man, Good Coach': Jets' Johnson Says Gase Will Be Back In 2020

Johnson held a brief meeting with reporters Wednesday and said Gase has his trust as well as the trust of general manager Joe Douglas moving forward.


FLORHAM PARK, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP)New York Jets chairman and CEO Christopher Johnson says Adam Gase‘s job is safe and he will remain the coach next season despite the team’s struggles this year.

Johnson held a brief meeting with reporters Wednesday and said Gase has his trust as well as the trust of general manager Joe Douglas moving forward.

Johnson called Gase “a good man, good coach,” and said he likes how Gase has maintained a positive dynamic in the facility despite the Jets facing lots of adversity and sitting at 2-7.

MOREJets, Gase Take Positive Step With Win, But Lots More To Do

Johnson said the losing has been “exceedingly frustrating,” but added that he believes Gase and Douglas will be able to “lead the Jets to a great future.”

Gase replaced the fired Todd Bowles last January, and Douglas was hired to replace Mike Maccagnan in June.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

December 7, 2019 Saturday
December 6, 2019 Friday
December 5, 2019 Thursday
December 4, 2019 Wednesday
December 3, 2019 Tuesday
December 2, 2019 Monday
December 1, 2019 Sunday
November 30, 2019 Saturday
November 29, 2019 Friday
November 28, 2019 Thursday
November 27, 2019 Wednesday
November 26, 2019 Tuesday
November 25, 2019 Monday
November 24, 2019 Sunday
Show More