2020 NFL Draft: New York Jets Trade Down, Take Baylor WR Denzel Mims In 2nd Round

The Jets originally had the 48th overall pick, but traded down Friday with Seattle and received the Seahawks’ second-round selection and their third-rounder.


NEW YORK (AP) — The New York Jets got a much-needed playmaker on offense, taking Baylor wide receiver Denzel Mims with their second-round pick in the NFL draft.

The Jets originally had the 48th overall pick, but traded down Friday night with Seattle and received the Seahawks’ second-round selection (No. 59) and their third-rounder (No. 101). New York now has three third-round picks.

It was believed New York would target a wide receiver at No. 48, but several players at the position — including Clemson’s Tee Higgins, USC’s Michael Pittman Jr., Colorado’s Laviska Shenault and Penn State’s K.J. Hamler — were all drafted in the second round before the Jets went on the clock.

They still ended up getting a player who should be able to immediately help coach Adam Gase’s offense as a speedy playmaker for quarterback Sam Darnold. General manager Joe Douglas recently told reporters he promised Darnold’s parents last summer that he’d get playmakers and protectors for the young signal caller.

The 6-foot-2, 207-pound Mims remained on the board when the Jets’ pick came up again and Douglas grabbed him.

Mims had 66 catches for 1,020 yards and 12 touchdowns last season for Baylor. He’ll help fill the void left when Robby Anderson, the Jets’ top receiver, signed with Carolina last month in free agency.

The Jets drafted Louisville offensive tackle Mekhi Becton with the 11th overall pick in the first round Thursday night.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
Show More