2020 NFL Draft: New York Jets Add Protection For Sam Darnold, Take OL Mehki Becton 11th Overall Pick

The Jets continued to beef up their offensive line adding Louisville's Mekhi Becton with the 11th overall pick.


The 6-7 364-pound tackle from Louisville was a two-year starter for the Cardinals. He is the first offensive lineman the Jets have drafted in the first round since they selected D’Brickashaw Ferguson fourth overall in 2006.

The 21-year-old Becton was the star of the NFL Combine in Indianapolis back in March when he ran a 5.1 40-yard dash, the fastest ever for a player over 350 pounds.

Last season, the Jets offense ranked near the bottom of the league in many passing categories including yards per play (6.6), yards per game (194.4), touchdowns (19), sacks allowed (52) and quarterback hits (106).

General manager Joe Douglas revamped the line this offseason adding free agents George Fant and Connor McGovern while also re-signing guard Alex Lewis. Becton joins that group as the Jets look to protect their franchise quarterback better in Year 2 of the Adam Gase regime.

The Jets will be on the clock next with the 48th overall pick when the second round begins on Friday night.

 

You might also like

May 31, 2020 Sunday
May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
Show More