Cardinal Theodore McCarrick Steps Down Amid Abuse Accusation

The former archbishop of Newark was removed from public ministry after an accusation he abused a teen while serving the New York archdiocese.


McCarrick previously served as archbishop of Newark in New Jersey.

The cardinal maintains his innocence but has accepted the ruling that the accusation was credible.

“While shocked by the report, and while maintaining my innocence, I considered it essential that the charges be reported to the police, thoroughly investigated by an independent agency, and given to the Review Board of the Archdiocese of New York,” McCarrick said in a statement. “I fully cooperated in the process.”

READ:
Statement of Archdiocese of Washington
Statement of Cardinal Theodore McCarrick
Statement of Cardinal Timothy Dolan

Cardinal Timothy Dolan of New York also released a statement about the investigation into charges against McCarrick.

“This archdiocese, while saddened and shocked, asks prayers for all involved, and renews its apology to all victims abused by priests,” said Dolan.

 

You might also like

Today
August 16, 2019 Friday
August 15, 2019 Thursday
August 14, 2019 Wednesday
August 13, 2019 Tuesday
August 12, 2019 Monday
August 11, 2019 Sunday
August 10, 2019 Saturday
August 9, 2019 Friday
August 8, 2019 Thursday
August 7, 2019 Wednesday
August 6, 2019 Tuesday
August 5, 2019 Monday
August 4, 2019 Sunday
Show More