1 Dead After Fire Rips Through 3 Buildings In Bayonne, New Jersey

The blaze broke out around 1:30 a.m. Wednesday at 36th and Broadway and then spread.


The blaze broke out around 1:30 a.m. Wednesday at 36th and Broadway and then spread to the neighboring buildings.

Someone walking by on the street initially called 911, CBS2’s Janelle Burrell reported. Most of the people who live inside the buildings were asleep when they said they started smelling smoke and rushed to get out.

“Oh my God, I could hardly see. I don’t know how I made it downstairs,” victim Nancy Heymer said. “I just had to do it.”

Fire officials say the woman who died in the fire was found in the building where the fire is believed to have started.

“It’s not under control,” Fire Chief Keith Weaver said. “There’s a lot of hidden fire within the walls and also in the contents. Right now, the buildings are too dangerous for our firefighters to enter so this is a defensive operation.”

Sixteen people were displaced by the fire and are being helped by the Red Cross. Three firefighters also suffered minor injuries.

 

You might also like

Today
August 15, 2019 Thursday
August 14, 2019 Wednesday
August 13, 2019 Tuesday
August 12, 2019 Monday
August 11, 2019 Sunday
August 10, 2019 Saturday
August 9, 2019 Friday
August 8, 2019 Thursday
August 7, 2019 Wednesday
August 6, 2019 Tuesday
August 5, 2019 Monday
August 4, 2019 Sunday
August 3, 2019 Saturday
Show More